June 5, 2023

Bobbys Brane

Bobbys Brane – Business & Tech Blog

Ryuichi Sakamoto Announces New Album 12

1 min read

Ryuichi Sakamoto has announced his new solo album 12. It’s due out January 17 via Milan Records. 12 is the first non-soundtrack solo studio album from the Japanese composer since 2017’s Async. Sakamoto recorded the album in 2021 and 2022, and the track titles reflect the dates that the compositions were written. In a statement, Sakamoto, who has been receiving cancer treatment, said, “After I finally ‘came home’ to my new temporary housing after a big operation, I found myself reaching for the synthesizer. I had no intention of composing something; I just wanted to be showered in sound. I’ll probably continue to keep this kind of ‘diary.’”

On December 10, Sakamoto will debut a career-spanning performance recorded at Tokyo’s 509 Studio—including a selection from 12— as part of a ticketed livestream. A sneak preview of the new album will be available immediately following the concert for ticketholders.

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.


01 20210310
02 20211130
03 20211201
04 20220123
05 20220202
06 20220207
07 20220214
08 20220302 – Sarabande
09 20220302
10 20220307
11 20220404
12 20220304

Ryuichi SakamotoNine Essential Ryuichi Sakamoto Collaborations to Know

Popular Among Readers