June 7, 2023

Bobbys Brane

Bobbys Brane – Business & Tech Blog

Miss Grit Announces Debut Album, Shares Video for New Song: Watch

2 min read

Miss Grit—aka New York–based, Korean-American musician Margaret Sohn—has announced their debut album, Follow the Cyborg. The follow-up to last year’s Impostor EP arrives February 24 via Mute. Today, Miss Grit has shared the title track, as well as a futuristic music video directed by Curry Sicong Tian. Watch the visual below.

“I wanted to place my body in the cyber world, allowing the different variations of my ghost to move about freely,” Sohn said of their new music video in a press release. “I wanted to look a little freakish, unrecognizable to myself to avoid my instinctive filtration.”

In creating Follow the Cyborg, Sohn was influenced by science fiction films such as Her, Ex Machina, Fallen Angels, and Ghost in the Shell, as well as essays by Jia Tolentino (from her book Trick Mirror: Reflections on Self-Delusion) and Donna Haraway’s A Cyborg Manifesto. The album traces the path of a non-human machine, as it moves from its origin “to awareness and liberation,” as stated in press materials.

Sohn self-produced Follow the Cyborg in their home studio during periods of monthly solitude. The album includes contributions from Stella Mozgawa of Warpaint, Aron Kobayashi Ritch of Momma, and Pearla. In addition to the English version of “Follow the Cyborg,” Sohn recorded a take in Korean (“사이보그를 따라와”).

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Miss Grit: Follow the Cyborg

Follow the Cyborg:

01 Perfect Blue
02 Your Eyes Are Mine
03 Nothing’s Wrong
04 Lain (Phone Clone)
05 Buffering
06 Follow the Cyborg
07 사이보그를 따라와
08 Like You
09 The End
10 Syncing


This content can also be viewed on the site it originates from.

Popular Among Readers