October 2, 2023

Bobbys Brane

Bobbys Brane – Business & Tech Blog

Erasure’s Vince Clarke Announces Debut Solo Album, Shares New Song and Video: Watch

1 min read

Vince Clarke, the co-founder of Erasure and Depeche Mode, has announced his first solo album: Songs of Silence, which Clarke recorded in his home studio in New York, is out November 17 via Mute. Below, watch the Ebru Yildiz–directed music video for the LP’s “The Lamentations of Jeremiah.”

Clarke co-founded Depeche Mode with Dave Gahan, Martin Gore, and Andy “Fletch” Fletcher and played on the band’s 1981 debut, Speak & Spell. He went on to form Yazoo, the Assembly, and, eventually, Erasure with Andy Bell. In 2011, he reunited with Gore for VCMG, releasing an album, Ssss, the following year.

Erasure most recently released The Neon and its companion, Day-Glo (Based on a True Story), in 2020 and 2022, respectively.

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Vince Clarke: Songs of Silence

Songs of Silence:

01 Cathedral
02 White Rabbit
03 Passage
04 Imminent
05 Red Planet
06 The Lamentations of Jeremiah
07 Mitosis
08 Blackleg
09 Scarper
10 Last Transmission

Popular Among Readers